fbpx

Holker Woodlands

The Estate has approximately 1,300 acres of woodlands at Holker and across south Cumbria. Two thirds are coniferous forests planted in the twentieth century and one third are broadleaved woodlands, some of which are classed as Ancient Woodland Sites.  The coniferous forests were planted to produce commercial timber products within a relatively short time.  Whilst this remains an important consideration, the Estate’s objectives are broader now and the woodlands are managed with biodiversity, landscape and amenity in mind.

The woodlands are managed by a small team, using contractors for felling and planting work. The Forestry Commission provides support through a woodland management grant and woodland improvement grants.  The Estate is also exploring opportunities for new woodland creation. 

The Estate produces sustainably grown commercial timber products including woodchip, which is used in the Estate’s two biomass boilers.

 

OPENING TIMES

 

2019 Winter Opening Times

The Hall and Gardens are now closed until the 2020 season. The Courtyard (Cafe, Ilex, Gift Shop & Food Hall) is open Friday to Sunday, 10am to 4pm. The Hall will repoen on 29th November 2019 for our Christmas Festivities. 

 

 

 

 

Dates and Times 

The Courtyard (Cafe, Ilex, Gift Shop & Food Hall) are open 10am – 4pm. Friday to Sunday.

Friday 8th November – Sunday 10th November

Friday 15th November – Sunday 17th November

Friday 22nd November – Sunday 24th November

The Hall will reopen on Friday 29th November for our Christmas festivities.

Friday 29th November – Sunday 1st December

Thursday 5th December – Sunday 8th December

Thursday 12th December – Sunday 15th December