fbpx

Holker Great Lime

What strikes you first about the Holker lime is its stature. It is designated one of The Tree Council’s 50 Great British Trees in recognition of its place in the National Heritage and in 1992 (which was presumably the date after which the only tape measure in Christendom was lost as no measurements of the tree have been taken since) it was 22m high (that’s 72 feet for the metrically-challenged) and its wonderfully wide fluted trunk was 25ft. Planted early in the 17th century, probably as part of a formal garden, this magnificent specimen has been carefully tended by generations of owners and gardeners. Today its huge trunk stands in a cavern formed by overhanging branches.

 

OPENING TIMES

 

2019 Winter Opening Times

The Hall and Gardens are now closed until the 2020 season. The Courtyard (Cafe, Ilex, Gift Shop & Food Hall) is open Friday to Sunday, 10am to 4pm. The Hall will repoen on 29th November 2019 for our Christmas Festivities. 

 

 

 

 

Dates and Times 

The Courtyard (Cafe, Ilex, Gift Shop & Food Hall) are open 10am – 4pm. Friday to Sunday.

Friday 8th November – Sunday 10th November

Friday 15th November – Sunday 17th November

Friday 22nd November – Sunday 24th November

The Hall will reopen on Friday 29th November for our Christmas festivities.

Friday 29th November – Sunday 1st December

Thursday 5th December – Sunday 8th December

Thursday 12th December – Sunday 15th December